2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale
2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale__after
2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale__below
2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale__left

Description

Product Description

First published in 1995 as How to Differentiate Instruction in Mixed-Ability Classrooms, this new edition reflects evolving best practices, practitioners'' experience, and Tomlinson''s ongoing thinking about how to help all students access high-quality curriculum; engage in meaningful learning experiences; and feel safe and valued in their school.

Written as a practical guide for teachers, this expanded 3rd edition of Carol Ann Tomlinson''s groundbreaking work covers the fundamentals of differentiation and provides additional guidelines and new strategies for how to go about it. You''ll learn

  • What differentiation is and why it''s essential
  • How to set up the flexible and supportive learning environment that promotes success
  • How to manage a differentiated classroom
  • How to plan lessons differentiated by readiness, interest, and learning profile
  • How to differentiate content, process, and products
  • How to prepare students, parents, and yourself for the challenge of differentiation

We differentiate instruction to honor the reality of the students we teach. They are energetic and outgoing. They are quiet and curious. They are confident and self-doubting. They are interested in a thousand things and deeply immersed in a particular topic. They are academically advanced and "kids in the middle" and struggling due to cognitive, emotional, economic, or sociological challenges. More of them than ever speak a different language at home. They learn at different rates and in different ways. And they all come together in our academically diverse classrooms.

From the Back Cover

We differentiate instruction to honor the reality of the students we teach. They are energetic and outgoing. They are quiet and curious. They are confident and self-doubting. They are interested in a thousand things and deeply immersed in a particular topic. They are academically advanced and "kids in the middle" and struggling due to cognitive, emotional, economic, or sociological challenges. More of them than ever speak a different language at home. They learn at different rates and in different ways. And they all come together in our academically diverse classrooms.

Written as a practical guide for teachers, this expanded third edition of Carol Ann Tomlinson''s groundbreaking work covers the fundamentals of differentiation and provides additional guidelines and new strategies for how to go about it. You''ll learn

  • What differentiation is and why it''s essential
  • How to set up the flexible and supportive learning environment that promotes success
  • How to manage a differentiated classroom
  • How to plan lessons differentiated by readiness, interest, and learning profile
  • How to differentiate content, process, and products
  • How to prepare students, parents, and yourself for the challenge of differentiation

First published in 1995 as How to Differentiate Instruction in Mixed-Ability Classrooms, this new edition reflects evolving best practices in education, the experiences of practitioners throughout the United States and around the world, and Tomlinson''s continuing thinking about how to help each and every student access challenging, high-quality curriculum; engage in meaning-rich learning experiences; and feel at home in a school environment that "fits."

About the Author

Carol Ann Tomlinson is William Clay Parrish, Jr. Professor, Chair of Educational Leadership, Foundations and Policy, and Co-director of the Institutes on Academic Diversity at the Curry School of Education, University of Virginia. Her university career follows a 20-year career as a public school teacher and a leader of district programs for both struggling and advanced learners. She and her colleagues developed a model for what we now call differentiated instruction in their work with heterogeneous 7th grade classrooms. Tomlinson was Virginia''s Teacher of the Year in 1974 and won an All-University Teaching Award in 1994. The author of more than 300 publications, she works throughout the United States and internationally with educators who want to create classrooms that are more responsive to a broad range of learners.

Product information

Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Videos

Help others learn more about this product by uploading a video!
Upload video
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

More items to explore

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
576 global ratings

Reviews with images

Top reviews from the United States

Ko_nai
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Now I know what they were talking about!
Reviewed in the United States on June 19, 2020
I just started teaching school a year ago today but this book was bought for a college course. We went through at least two chapters a week and it was painful if you didn''t know anything about how to implement differentiating instructions. It wasn''t till the later... See more
I just started teaching school a year ago today but this book was bought for a college course. We went through at least two chapters a week and it was painful if you didn''t know anything about how to implement differentiating instructions. It wasn''t till the later chapters that it started to make sense. Having been in the military, each and every one of us received the same instructions, heard the same stories, and were put into the situation to practice what we learned. There were no differentiated curriculum or instructions. Fast forward a few decades to 2019. In order to help certain students, I allowed them to test verbally instead of on paper. I felt that some cardinal rule was broken and the gods of education would strike me down hahaha. Since it didn''t happen, instead of lecturing one day, I had students come up and talk to the class about their experiences of some concept and what they felt it was all about. Six months later, my college course started and I bought this book. Long story short, I had exposed myself to what this book as all about. Having high expectations without support to help them get there was lost on me. It helped pinpoint where I should have been supporting them, how to differentiate instructions, increase the depth of understanding, creating groups and populating them with the right students. It also had me asking questions about the fairness and equity dealing with inclusive students and how increasing the content without excluding them in the equation. If anything, this is a primer but there are critics because they find it threatening backed up with statistics and truth are in the numbers. After my first year as a teacher, statistics count, qualitative be damned. Good thing I don''t listen to soothsayers, my student''s matter, not the institution for which it stands. There is so much to learn and this has been a light in the darkness for me.
8 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Taylor_Reviews
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Great Resource!
Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2018
About to go into my 5th year of teaching high school English. I want to expand my abilities when it comes to differentiation and this book has already helped me with planning for the coming school year. This book holds a positive can-do tone, which I appreciate greatly.
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Sinclair S.
3.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Highly Repetitive
Reviewed in the United States on September 14, 2020
Nothing wrong if you are new to Dr. T''s work, however this book is highly repetitive with her base work. If you must choose, choose this one and skip the original; you won''t miss much.
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Papa
4.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Simply Profound
Reviewed in the United States on June 20, 2018
This text is very clear simple and profound. If you are an educator it should convict you and cause you to reconsider how our way of teaching on way to many leaves many behind. If you are a parent it should convict you to accept where your child is and end the competition... See more
This text is very clear simple and profound. If you are an educator it should convict you and cause you to reconsider how our way of teaching on way to many leaves many behind. If you are a parent it should convict you to accept where your child is and end the competition for grades-your approval-and fear of failure.
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Great!
Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2020
I bought this book for a grad class, and honestly have learned about this material in my first year in undergrad. Easy to get though with nicely laid out tables and easy wording. I still enjoyed reading it even with knowing much of the information given.
One person found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Thsi books walks educators through the differentiation process.
Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2018
I liked how the book develops the case for differentiation in a way that makes sense to teachers. Then the author takes us through the variety of ways to differentiate for students. It gives teachers conceptual ideas and practical ways to implement those ideas. Although the... See more
I liked how the book develops the case for differentiation in a way that makes sense to teachers. Then the author takes us through the variety of ways to differentiate for students. It gives teachers conceptual ideas and practical ways to implement those ideas. Although the process of proactively lifting barriers for students is complex, as our author points out, it is achievable. This book helps us to move forward in our work to create more and more great educations for more and more students. Carol Ann Tomlinson continues to champion success for children, and her book is an important read for all educators.
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Katie
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
GREAT BOOK!
Reviewed in the United States on April 11, 2019
So useful for EVERYONE! This is not just for teachers, but for parents, grand parents or their friends. I drew a lot of lessons from this book. It seems repetitive, but that help for the information to sink in better.
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Kate
3.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Repetitive and unhelpfully abstract
Reviewed in the United States on December 28, 2020
This book is very repetitive in an unhelpful way. Instead of adding new insights, each chapter feels like a constant review of the ones that came before. There are relatively few concrete examples that are necessary for a new teacher like me to understand in order to grasp... See more
This book is very repetitive in an unhelpful way. Instead of adding new insights, each chapter feels like a constant review of the ones that came before. There are relatively few concrete examples that are necessary for a new teacher like me to understand in order to grasp the topic.
Helpful
Report

Top reviews from other countries

Jesica
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Very useful
Reviewed in Australia on December 14, 2018
The content is very clear, organised and useful. It makes differentiation easier to understand and implement in a classroom with students with different abilities.
Report
Nikki Bear
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Helpful
Reviewed in Australia on September 18, 2020
Great help with study
Report
彭國威
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
好書
Reviewed in Japan on September 20, 2020
我非常喜歡這本書,正是我需要的。很讚!
Report
See all reviews
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Pages with related products.

  • ASCD Books

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale

2021 new arrival How to Differentiate sale Instruction in lowest Academically Diverse Classrooms outlet online sale